ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: Abstract

Abstract

Hello all! This is my first post here, and I was wondering if anybody had any comments on some of my works! I am not a trained artist, and have been having a lot of trouble trying to figure out how to 'improve' and push my art to the next level. Can anybody give me any advice or recommend any great books that might help me out? Thanks! Click image for larger version. 

Name:	photo.jpg 
Views:	89 
Size:	195.7 KB 
ID:	77089Click image for larger version. 

Name:	photo.jpg 
Views:	89 
Size:	195.7 KB 
ID:	77089Click image for larger version. 

Name:	photo (4).jpg 
Views:	98 
Size:	174.2 KB 
ID:	77090Click image for larger version. 

Name:	photo (3).jpg 
Views:	94 
Size:	232.1 KB 
ID:	77091Click image for larger version. 

Name:	photo (2).jpg 
Views:	101 
Size:	146.2 KB 
ID:	77092

Thanks!
    -Andrew

Based on your question and looking at your past efforts here, you look like you want to take it to the next plateau. And that means a bit of a paradigm shift. . . if such is your interest. If not, consider what you paid for this conversation, and ignore me. :-)

If you have eyes and look at things as an artist would, you're a trained artist as far as I'm concerned because we most often learn way more from observation and other people's work and most of all doing art than from a formal class, especially from what I remember from classes that 'teach' abstraction.

There's really nothing to teach in abstract art. All a class or book will give you is technique and/or a history lesson and slides showing which artist has done what in the past and perhaps how it fits into the historical timeline.