ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: Help Me Enjoy ArtRage

Unhappy Help Me Enjoy ArtRage

I got ArtRage Studio along with my Wacom Bamboo tablet a little less than a year ago. I've never really done much traditional art--apart from sketching--and I don't really find ArtRage as usable or enjoyable as other programs, such as Paint Tool SAI. It has a lot of functions for making traditional-looking art, but I only want to be a digital artist. Thus, it's a bit hard for me to create the effects I want. I also don't quite understand exactly how tools function, as I am not very experienced in traditional painting, and how those effects would be useful (such as the palette knife effects). ArtRage is one of the only programs I actually own, however.
    My main question is, how can I, who am mostly a digital artist, enjoy ArtRage? Should I upgrade to ArtRage 4? Or should I buy another program?

EDIT:
    Sorry. I'll clarify. When I say I want to be mainly a "digital" artist, I mean that I'm not interested in making my artwork have a traditional look--I don't mind if it looks completely digital or "plastic." I would like to focus on realistic or semi-realistic portraiture, and possibly cartooning.