ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: Faces/portraits

Faces/portraits

Hey there,
    I just noticed this sub-forum and realized that I had been using the 'what can you paint in 30 minutes' thread for this. I am starting out with learning to draw faces, and now that I have a drawing tablet I can use it to sketch and try everything without making a mess.
    So I began with that today, and made two drawings. One is horrible lol, but meant to pull myself out of the comfort zone (scared to show my portrait efforts), the other seems to be slightly better.
    I am still learning how to use the artrage tools, I am not used to them yet. The program is still complicating sometimes.

Anyway
    I would love it if people can give constructive feedback and advice when it comes to portraits. Because its easy to make the same mistakes over and over again without seeing it. Its wonderful when others can say what they see.
    Maybe I will get better some day

I`ll post the two drawings of today here for critique if that is ok.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	oefening gezicht jumi 2012.jpg 
Views:	89 
Size:	85.0 KB 
ID:	75900
    Last edited by FantasyShades; 03-16-2016 at 03:51 AM.

Good efforts, both of them.

The vertical darker lines on the first one's nose could be softened, and have a look at your eyes, or a photo, and see how the eye is structured. The white finishes in the middle corner and a pink area follows on before you leave the eye.

The second one is the same, but well done.

Thanks for the feedback!
    I will keep both things in mind when I try the next one, maybe I will try some eyes and noses without a face as well.