ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: String Table Error in Artrage 4

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Canberra, Australia
    Posts
    124

    String Table Error in Artrage 4

    Hi,

    Thanks for the latest Artrage, Ambient team. Just downloaded it a few hours ago. Love your work.

    I'm working on a PC running Windows 7. After closing the file, then reopening it, I'm getting that pesky %%String Table Error instead of a menu bar. I see from a search of the archives that some users were experiencing this problem with an earlier version of Artrage back in '07.

    Has anyone else experienced this with Artrage 4?

    Sorry if it's been addressed elsewhere. A search took me back years.

    EDIT: I fixed it by reinstalling. I'm sure it was user error because I was mucking around with files in Explorer. Did I accidentally replace or delete a file to do with the language settings? Getting that general impression from the archive.
    Last edited by Slap Happy Larry; 02-16-2013 at 08:15 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    142
    It might not be the fault of either you or ArtRage. My system occasionally randomizes my files. On its own! And when I install ANYTHING I have to track something down that might not be related to what I installed. Even system updates can do this. App data from several other favorites often land in a folder called "my documents" (not created by me) which is inside a file "My Documents" and I have to copy stuff out of the "my documents" to put it where I want to go. As of a few months ago, opening a WordPerfect document by the old recipe no longer works; I get the same type of message as you describe. And I often have to muck about in Explorer to figure out where my music has traveled to. Exciting and unpredictable!

    I can't load my Toolbox because the things I need have landed in the mysterious "my documents" file along with gegl-0.0, Corel User Files, and several others. And truly, not my fault. Or ArtRage's fault. My son-in-law suspects my "Cloud" backup. I'm glad your reinstall worked!

    (If anyone has suggestions as how to fix my ever-changing file failures, please advise.)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Posts
    3,504
    'String Table Error' means that ArtRage is expecting some text data for fields in its interface but is unable to get them from its resource file. It typically indicates that there is a problem with ArtRage's resource file in that it's missing or damaged. Glad to hear that reinstalling fixed it. It most likely replaced the missing or damaged file.

    I'm not sure about the files moving all over the place, that sounds rather inconvenient! I support it could relate to a cloud service, but I'd recommend doing a full virus scan with a recently updated antivirus package as a precaution.
    Dave
    Resident Bug-Hunter
    Ambient Design

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Canberra, Australia
    Posts
    124
    Thanks, guys!

    I was poking around in Explorer trying to work out a quicker way of importing all my several hundred presets into Artrage 4 from Artrage Studio Pro.

    I still haven't come up with a good way of doing that, apart from going in manual. Still, I'm keeping the hell out of that area for now.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Posts
    3,504
    There should be an RTF file in your ArtRage install directory ( optionally displayed at the end of Artrage installation ) which provides steps for copying your presets across from Studio Pro to ArtRage 4.

    There's a post here which describes the process and should save you time:

    http://www2.ambientdesign.com/forums...stom-Resources
    Dave
    Resident Bug-Hunter
    Ambient Design

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Canberra, Australia
    Posts
    124
    Thanks!

    Now I can spend that time saved rearranging my collection of oriental feather dusters.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •