ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: All suggestions welcome on starting a class

Question All suggestions welcome on starting a class

Here's my story, I've been painting digitally for quite a few years, and just love the ease and "natural material like" feel of ArtRage Studio Pro. When I started to get active in local art groups in my area, I found there was a lot of misunderstanding about digital painting. My work has been accepted into a few shows, but I still hear things in the background like..... that's not like what I do, that's a photoshopped photo. There is also another artist in the group, who does manipulations of photos and drawings and calls it digital painting. I have no problem with it, but it doesn't help people to understand that what I do is not quite the same thing.
    Having been an art teacher in the school system at one time, I decided rather than argue, I'll take it as an opportunity to educate. One of the local art galleries, has offered to let me run a class in their space, but I haven't gotten significant enrollment as of yet. We are going to try again in the spring. I donated my time, to set up and demo at their last gallery Open reception. Well, I didn't get tomato stains on my shirt, but I do know there is some "hesitation" from traditional artists. I had one of my large pieces, printed and framed propped up an easel, I had a slide show on my computer that I ran intermittently during the evening, and I was painting with a second monitor turned so all would see.