ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: Traditional digital art painting?

Traditional digital art painting?

Hi all,

In conversing with some people I heard the term 'traditional digital art painting' being thrown around. I was explained that it was without filters? and a whole bunch of other stuff....

well what does a traditional digital art painting look like compared to a digital art painting? what are filters for? Same thing as layers? Im still learning all the terms and what each button does with AR.

TIA!

To my mind, Traditional Digital Painting would be emulating the painting process on screen, as an artist would paint on paper or canvas.

Filters are used to change your original computerised image with a pre-determined effect. For example, in Photoshop, you can choose Blur, Distort, Noise, etc, and artistic styles like Watercolour, Dry Brush and lots more. No artistic skill is required by the operator to get these effects. They can even be used to change a photo to look like a painting, though it is obvious if you look hard as there is nothing 'random' about it, which you always get with the human touch.

Layers are just a way of adding more to your work without interrupting what you have already done.

Hope that helps!

Oh Robyn, thank you so much. It has helped me tremendously to understand it.

Thank you for providing the example.

Pleasure!

As the person you talked to stated 'traditional' being no filters etc, I suspect they were referring specifically to painting in Photoshop back when it was version 2.1 to 3.0 (windows was 3.11 at this time to give you an idea of when).