ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: Update: Seems Solved! (Having Trouble Opening/Saving Files)

Update: Seems Solved! (Having Trouble Opening/Saving Files)

Hello, I'm new to this forum and have finally created an account in order to get some advice. I apologize in advance if I've put this post in the wrong place.

I've been using ArtRage 3 for a few years now with no problems other than the inability to draw a straight line and the limitations of my own computer knowledge. Very often I leave the program open while I do other stuff -- sometimes for weeks at a time. I usually add a few changes a day, and I always save the painting after making changes.

Yesterday for the first time in a while I had to close down the program in order to do [stupid things I don't understand with stupid Chrome and stupid Adobe flash]. When I tried to reopen the file I've been working on, ArtRage shut down with the message that it had quit unexpectedly. I'm able to get it to open an older version of the image (saved prior to the stupid Chrome activities, which by the way were also completely unsuccessful) by double-clicking on the .ptg file itself, but if I try to save it or export the image as a .jpg, the program quits again. I cannot open it by way of the "Recent Files" menu. I can get the program to open, but even if I create a brand new thing and try to save it, it crashes with the same message. It seems like the problem is not with the image files being corrupted, but with the ArtRage application itself?

I 'm on a desktop mac using 10.6.8. Should I say more than that about what I'm using? The version of ArtRage on my computer is 3.0.7. I don't use a tablet or anything, and have never added any stuff to the program like, uh, palettes or filters or whatever. I have the program in my dock, and that's usually how I open it.