ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iPad Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Background Art

Gallery
    View images

Background Art

Hi. I've been aware of ArtRage for some time and finally bit the not-to-painful $20 bullet and got it yesterday. I am an animation student and have just begun work on an animated short. We only have a few weeks to do it, so not sure how good it'll be, but I wanted to try to make the backgrounds somewhat painterly. I have limited painting experience and since I'm also new to ArtRage I decided to paint objects -like rocks and so on- in ArtRage and assemble layers in Photoshop. I'll eventually bring these into Flash and -hopefully- then have my characters swimming around them.

Anyhow here is a character test - just marker and colored in Photoshop. I may paint the carpace and skins in ArtRage eventually to have more texture but not sure.

These background tests are composited in Photoshop from 4 different rocks and one branch I made in ArtRage.

Feedback appreciated.

Gallery
    View images
    Oooh, fantastic work. I hope you'll share the completed animation with us when you're done.
    AndyRage's mantra for graphics engine code:
    "Sure - how hard can it be?"

Gallery
    View images
    What is that thing - like a soldier ant or something? Your work looks great so far.
    Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day - Teach a man to fish and he will sit in a boat and drink beer all day! Joe V.

Gallery
    View images
    Thanks. Will do.

It's a crayfish that got the worse of a fight with a fishy villan when he was young.

Gallery
    View images

A little more background

Was home sick today so went a bit farther with my ArtRage playing. I created a few more stones and some branches in ArtRage and then composited in Photoshop.