ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: Nephew with his rabbit

Nephew with his rabbit

Hi, I am new to ArtRage and to the Forum. I hope I can learn a lot here! I made a drawing of my nephew and I would like to add a wooden background, like he is standing in front of a barn. Well maybe I will change my ideas, however I was looking for wooden textures and how to use them and have no clue. I can load them as image in a layer and then stretch them, however that looks a bit unnatural. Painting wood is difficult. I could try to use stencils ... ? Any ideas ?
    Attached Images Attached Images  

Well I changed plans and this is how the background was filled in:
    Attached Images Attached Images  

Wood Stencil

Making a stencil out of a wood graphic is fairly easy. Import a picture as a layer off the net, or a photo you take yourself, and follow the instructions to make a stencil. Then you can stretch it or patch it together, paint it a base colour you like, then work on it from there. Re: your flowers behind, bring them right to the edge of his face on the left so there isn't a break. The drawing style of the boy is really interesting but I wonder if the background is a little distracting (too strong). Keep at it!

Thanks for the advice, actually I used a stencil for this one.

Hey.. nice picture!

I actually really prefer the first image... it feels like it has a style, like a cool semi graphic look, but with the background added it just kind of messes it up a bit and is too distracting.. (for me ) less is more, is the phrase that comes to mind.

the top one reminds me of some david hockney portraits..

http://www.hockneypictures.com/works...0_04_large.php