ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Simple question regarding layers

Simple question regarding layers

Alright so, I'm new to Art Rage and I'm having some difficulty.

I have two images, which I would like to combine. One image is a background, and the other image is something I want to add on top if the background. The second image is all white except for a small portion, and all I want is that small portion to appear on top of the background. How do I do this? I've tried messing around with different opacities and I'm not getting what I want. I've searched through the forum and I couldn't find anything. Sorry if this is a stupid question, but I can't figure it out.

edit:
    I just read the sticky. Version: 3.0.0.1. OS: Windows 7.
    Last edited by Kaori; 06-16-2012 at 04:20 PM.

I'm not sure have understood you rightly. I think you are saying that you have two images on separate layers and you want to combine them?

If I have that right then it's easy. Go to the to TOP layer and then to the bottom right hand corner of the layer - the button with the lines on it - click on it and select "merge layer down" and click it and the two layers will combine.

If I've got that wrong, try again and I'll try to do better

Brett
    Visit my gallery here.

=========

Thanks for the reply, Brett.

I've tried that, and it didn't work. All it does is make one of the layers disappear. Are there certain settings I have to apply to the layers first?
    Last edited by Kaori; 06-16-2012 at 03:56 PM.

Were the separate images created with ArtRage (or some other computer program)? If so, you need to save the image that is going to be placed on top of the other image, in a manner that allows for the background to be transparent. I'd recommend exporting to .PNG file format.