ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iPad Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: About the Forums

Gallery
    View images

About the Forums

Ever since i joined the ArtRage forums, i have been seeing alot of new members registering and just posting spam. I joined because of the love of the program, but then i see new members after me joining and posting nothing but spam. Every time i see another member join, i wonder if they are gonna spam the forums. Is there anything that can be done about this, and why do people even bother.

I am a noob here, and find these forums full of great people and very talented artists. But when i see all the spammers signing up, it makes me concerned.

I know the Mod's are doing a great job here, but is there anything that can be done about it.

Sorry if this post doesn't belong here, but i hate to click on any new member just to see if they are spammers.

Mods, keep up the great job....I will work on a great picture soon.

Shawn
    Adventure Game Studio User
    ArtRage 2 User

Gallery
    View images
    They are more likely Bots than actual "members". The AR site has managed to get itself on some lists somewhere or another. Its just a regretable side effect of keeping an easily accesible open community.

Beyond that an unfortunate side effect of selling very affordable/free software is that youre going to attract the attention of a certain "element" from that as well... from those with a zero level of online sophistication and sensibility, to those looking to exploit to former.

They could increase the difficulty of the registering process to try and filter some of those out, or subject new users to more scrutiny and a waiting period, but every step you take in the direction also makes things less friendly for legitimate members( and potential sales!) looking to join.