ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: layers with different textures

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    California
    Posts
    340

    layers with different textures

    I know this has been covered before but I can't find where.

    How can I use textured canvas without the texture showing through every layer?

    I change bump blend modes to "replace" and change edit layer texture to not use canvas texture, but canvas texture still comes through anyway.

    It seems that any time I change edit layer texture to any other texture, it never changes it that I can see.



    Thanks. I have studio pro.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    2,874
    You need to change the canvas texture, not the layer texture if you want the grain to change visually. I'm not at home so I can't double check where the option is (I use a personal shortcut), but you'll find an option for "Canvas settings" under one of option menus along the top of screen.
    Nothing is easy to the unwilling.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    California
    Posts
    340
    Thank you. I will experiment with this.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Huntsville, On., Canada
    Posts
    5,356

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    washington, usa
    Posts
    14,215
    The lower right corner of the layers palette. Click on the menu. The last item on the menu is canvas texture.
    or use Control Shift C. Easier than searching through the upper menus.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    California
    Posts
    340
    I'd like to make the object i'm painting appear completely smooth without texture, while the background is a very coarse woven texture. But when I change the canvas setting to the coarse woven texture, the object also takes on the woven texture. Un-checking "use canvas texture" for that layer makes no change. That's where i was getting confused.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Posts
    3,504
    To make a layer have a smooth texture, while leaving the background canvas texture and appearance rough:

    1/ Right click the layer and choose 'edit layer texture'
    2/ Uncheck 'use canvas texture' ( This stops the layer from automatically using the canvas settings )
    3/ Move the roughness slider down to 0%

    All media you place on that layer should now be on a smooth surface. Note this doesn't apply to any media you painted on that layer before making the change.
    Dave
    Resident Bug-Hunter
    Ambient Design

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    California
    Posts
    340
    Dave, thank you.

    I'll attach a png of what I just tried.
    1. set canvas to rough texture
    2. on 2 layers, set "edit layer texture" to be 0 roughness (unchecked "use canvas texture" on both)
    3. I painted on each layer with various tools, but the canvas grain shows through all of them.

    I must be missing something.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Posts
    3,504
    Sorry, I see what you mean. I can't think of a way of doing what you're looking for via canvas texture / layer texture. The base canvas texture will always affect the bump you see in the paint texture. The way the paint breaks up is affected by the local canvas texture.

    You could try the following though:

    1/ Create a painting with the desired rough canvas texture
    2/ Fill the first layer with the colour you want your canvas to be
    3/ Right click that layer, export it as a PNG
    4/ Create a new painting and set canvas roughness to 0%
    5/ File -> Import Image to layer and load the PNG you exported in step 3/
    6/ Add a new layer and paint on this layer and above.

    Paint will be laid down smoothly, and the appearance of a rough canvas texture will exist in the painting due to the imported image, it just won't affect anything you do with your media.
    Dave
    Resident Bug-Hunter
    Ambient Design

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    California
    Posts
    340
    That will work. Thank you very much, Dave.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •