ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Where is my saved, unfinished painting on my iPad?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    10

    Where is my saved, unfinished painting on my iPad?

    I'm sorry if this issue has been discussed elsewhere--- I looked and couldn't find it.

    I have a new iPad2 and was pleasantly surprised to see that there is an app. for ArtRage for the iPad. I quickly downloaded it and played with it a bit before I had to quit. I saved it (I thought!)

    Then later when I had time to go back in and play some more---- I can't find the 'saved' pic. My iPad2 shows I installed it--- the 'purchased' apps show it but I can't even get ArtRage to open. I don't care about the saved pic, it was a bunch of nonsense, but I can't figure out how to get another ArtRage screen to open---[edit to add---- on my iPad2. AR opens fine on my desktop]

    Any ideas? Please? I'm really excited about having ArtRage on my iPad2.
    Thanks if someone can answer.
    Last edited by cave76; 01-31-2012 at 05:11 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    235
    Normally, if you saved the pic, it will be in the gallery. If you can't get Artrage to open, try rebooting your iPad. I haven't had this problem, so I am just guessing. If , at the bottom of the screen, you see a profile of a head it is telling you the memory is low, if you saved it while that was on, it may not have saved properly. Reboot should get the app going in any case.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    10

    Unhappy

    Marji,
    Thanks for your suggestions. I rebooted (and I think I did it correctly) but that didn't work.

    My batteries were only a little low (about 45%) yesterday, but I recharged anyway and tried again this a.m. Still nothing.

    I don't know where the 'gallery' is. (Remember, I'm a new iPad user) but I've looked under photos, camera, video, anything that might be considered a 'gallery'.

    In the apps place it showed ArtRage installed, and I know it was because I used it yesterday. Once. Since then tapping on the icon doesn't bring up anything.
    [edit to add----- btw, it's not the saved pic that I'm concerned about---- it's the fact that I can't access ArtRage on my iPad 2, when I was able to when I first purchased it.]
    ITunes charged my credit card (I checked).

    In the dark.

    One question----- I rebooted while the iPad was on. Is that the correct way to do it?

    Now, here's a really stupid question. Brace yourself!!! I have had Artrage for years on my desktop computer. Surely I don't have to buy another ArtRage for my iPad? Especially since the app did work once.
    Last edited by cave76; 01-31-2012 at 06:37 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    235
    Hmm, you can only access the gallery if the app is open. You have the option to save to photos once thongs are working. Hold the power button down till it says "power off" slide the slider to off. Hold the power but for quite a time until the white apple appears. Then it will come back on. It takes a few minutes. Nothing is ever lost doing this. After that i would contact the app support.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    10
    ***Hmm, you can only access the gallery if the app is open. ***
    Real Catch 22. (grin)

    I will have to contact Apple support I guess. I spent some time finding my serial number and reading other forums. At first I thought maybe my IOS wasn't 'up to date' but it seems that it's a 4. something and only a 3. something is needed for this app.

    I keep my iTunes updates--- up to date.

    Just noticed---- my Kindle app (on iPad2 that I installed and used to sync with my Kindle yesterday is also not working. So something's dreadfully amiss.

    What IOS are you using? Maybe I need to update to IOS 5.0.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    235
    i use iOS 5, but there are lots of people still on the other. I don't think that should matter. I meant that you should contact the Artrage support, which would be going to the app store, going to the art rage app (it should say installed) and then finding a link to support, it should be obvious. Then sending them an email. But perhaps, if other things are not working properly, there is something else wrong.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    10
    Thank you for your more than kind responses.

    Those two apps do show as installed (and actually worked once, each)
    but I can't tap/click (or pound!!)! on them to bring anything up.

    I did see the support button on the non-working app but didn't have the serial number or whatever other info they needed. And I'm not sure that means my old
    ArtRage information (sigh) or the iPad2 stuff.
    Never easy.

    Thanks---- and I'm sure there's something else going on, probably simple, I hope, but it eludes me.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    2,874
    With your iPad on, go to the home screen (the screen that shows you all of your apps). Then double tap your home button (the circular button on the face of the iPad, with the picture of a square on it). This should bring up your active (but idle) apps, on a menu bar, along the bottom of your screen. Put your finger down on one of the apps, and hold it there, until your the icons begin to wiggle, and you will see a small red circle, with a white dash, in corner of the app icons. Tap each of the icons, on the red circle, to close them out. When you have closed all of your active apps, click your home button once, to return to the normal iPad screen. Now try to open the programs you haven't been able to use.

    Notes:
    This may not work, but I have had apps (like the TV guide app) stop opening, and this has solved the issue.

    If you hold your finger down, over an app icon in the normal iPad window, you will activate the window editing for the screen. It's similar to what is explained above, except if you tap the circle (which will be black, instead of red, with a white "X"), it will unload that app from your iPad. You may then reinstall it from the App store (no charge).
    Nothing is easy to the unwilling.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Posts
    3,504
    You don't need to provide a serial number for the iPad or iPhone version, these versions don't have serial numbers. Sorry for the confusion. I have your email now, just reading through it and will reply to you directly. I see you've already rebooted the iPad, however this doesn't close down parked apps if they were sitting in the background and the problem was due to low memory.
    Dave
    Resident Bug-Hunter
    Ambient Design

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    235
    Good call Someonesane, I forgot about that trick!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •