ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: New AR user

Talking New AR user

Just bought and used my ArtRage. Today, they finally sent the serial number so I could actually open the product. Oh well.

My question for now is how well does Bamboo Pen and Touch work with this and is that what you all use?

I am new to using Bamboo tablets as well. All new to me! I'm a traditional artist that has never used techie stuff before today. Wow, I'm so behind the times. Now I can try to catch up.

Welcome Jean.
    You will find a lot of kindred spirits in here, including myself. I was forced to make the move to digital art about ten years ago because of work pressure, but am now very glad I did. It was all watercolours and ink line for me for about twenty years before that (yep - old fart talking).

My original tablet was far less capable than a Bamboo and yet it made all the difference to my transition. Just play with the painting and drawing tools you are used to in the real world first, to get a handle on how working digitally differs. Play with the controls in the 'settings' palette to see how it affects the look and feel of each.

If you've never used layers before, just leave them alone for the moment and work on one layer only. There's plenty of time to discover the megalomaniac control they can give you.

I would suggest you learn the shortcut 'keystrokes' to make navigating round your image quicker and easier though. It makes a big difference to the digital painting experience and will soon become second nature. They are listed in the built in manual. Might be an idea to print the relevant pages out and have them to hand to begin with - just a thought.