Thread: My first digital drawing and Painting

Gallery
    View images

My first digital drawing and Painting

Hello everyone,
    I am new to digital art and conventional drawing and painting but am taking active steps late in life to learn whilst having fun with ArtRage. I would welcome c&c. Both were done freehand - avocado has been eaten

Can someone tell me if it is possible to separate layers once they have been merged?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	my_right_foot_259.jpg 
Views:	140 
Size:	94.4 KB 
ID:	4907  

Attached Images Attached Images  

Gallery
    View images

good looking avocado

hey vil

I have little experience with artrage, but the basic rules that apply to photoshop, paintshop, painter and so on also apply here.
    I don't think layers can be un-merged once you merge them. my advice to you is to save several copies of your work as you make progress, so you can go back to a saved version, even if you lose some work and time.

when I create any kind of digital art, I save the original sketch, then I save major steps - after coloring, before adding a new effect etc. I don't merge layers if I don't have to, as I try to create only the necessary layers in the first place. when I am satisfied with the result, I export the work to a png or jpg file, but I keep the psd file intact.

Gallery
    View images
    hahaha... clever use of the paint texture for the avocado skin. Love it!

Gallery
    View images
    Thanks for the information Dori, I'll do what you suggest. Is it ever absolutely necessary to merge all layers? Although the family computer has got photoshop, paintshop and painter, these programs have too much information to digest, especially for a beginner like me. ArtRage is GREAT! Just one thing though, wish it had a practice palette to mix colours and check brush sizes, strokes etc.