ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: Best tablet advice

Best tablet advice

As I'm about to buy my first tablet, should I go for something relatively inexpensive, or go for something better staright off?

I'm looking at the Wacom Bamboo Fun, and also the Intuos4. There's a big prioce difference, and I don't want to commit to either without first asking for your advice - and also for any recommendations.

Are there any other tablets brands/models I should consider? I'm not a professional artist, but I do want to buy something which will last and allow me to properly explore and develop my painintg skills.

I think that is different for everybody and a very persona choicel. But a tip is that the tablet size should match your type of screen, like widescreen or not. I personally bought a cheap brand which is very common but sold under different names. It matches my screen and is a bigger size (A4) working area. It works fine form me for more than a year now. And because it's a hobby and I am not a professional I would buy the same one again next time. It depends on what you do, if u for example use Linux you'd better buy one which has an easy Linux driver and so on. That is what you should considder. Of course Wacom is very good, no doubt about that....

Hi Lightwind, im using the Intuos4, and i love it, over the years ive had a few wacom tablets,i started with the graphire, then moved to the intuos 3, i love the new features on the 4, the main problem with it is the nibs ware down real quick, i put a thin sheet of plastic on mine and it solved the problem, it depends how much you want to spend, i think whatever wacom tablet you have you will like it, take care

I use a wacom cte-640 that I have had for a few years now.