ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: "Zeroing" out canvas depth on re-import from pshop

"Zeroing" out canvas depth on re-import from pshop

While I applaud AR's goal of being faithful to the pure drawing/painting experience, in the digital age, sometimes you just gotta be able to move stuff around (I know, I know, Im a bad artist and all that, tell me something I dont know...). To which end the photoshop support is an acceptable, if less than ideal, compromise...or it would be if...

It didnt seem that upon re-importing a document back into AR, the base depth level of the canvas(or whatever is used to determine the appearance of the depth effects of the tools in AR) seemed to reset itself to some level higher than which you were working at before.

To clarify, strokes seem to "sink in" to the canvas, as if the canvas white itself has been converted to paint. Even pencil strokes aquire a negative depth effect ( I suppose this is realistic from a microscopic standpoint, but distracting and not desired for practical purposes). Colors that were dry or thin before are now thick and viscous , making if a bit difficult to match the look of the painting that was being done in that area (I realize theres probably nothing to be done about that).

I dont pretend to understand how AR processes its depth effects, but is there any way to "zero out" the depth of an imported image so that subsequent strokes have a purely additive depth effect?