ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: Varied texture on different layers?

Varied texture on different layers?

Hi Guys, I'm new to ArtRage and loving it so far. I do have a question regarding textures and layers. It seems to me that ArtRage allows me to have a rough base canvas layer, with paint on that layer displaying this texture. It also seems possible that I can add further layers and remove this texture, allowing for paint on the new layer to have a smooth buttery effect, without the heavy texture. I've tried right clicking the 2nd layer and changing the settings in the 'Edit Layer Texture' options, but when I paint on this layer, it still seems to be showing the heavy texture from the canvas layer below. Can anybody point out to me what I'm doing wrong? Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance

Just realised this is in the wrong place, sorry about that!

You're using one of the Studio version of ArtRage, correct?

In the Studio versions, changing the Layer Texture, using the Edit Layer Texture feature, changes how the tools react to a specific layer. The texture seen as the background (the Canvas) will not change in appearance, when making changes to a layers texture. So if I used a horizontally lined grain for a Canvas, then switched my layer texture to a vertically lined grain, I'd get this:
    Name:  texturelayercanvas.jpg
Views: 328
Size:  168.7 KB
    Notice that the mark made in green has reacted with the visible canvas, as one would expect it to, while the mark made in red seems to have scuffed a surface that going against the grain we can see.