ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Finished Art for Tales of a Checkered Man

Finished Art for Tales of a Checkered Man

Finally finished this piece. I was using it as a warm up before I started other projects. It's also the first attempt at doing this in a more "painterly" fashion, i.e. no ink work.

A word of explanation. The character in red is from a comic called "Tales of a Checkered Man." He's sort of a wannabe Batman. But without any of the skills. So when I did this piece for the site, I thought they would be a funny pair.

The working title was (and is) "Could you skooch over a bit?"

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	TOACM-AR.jpg 
Views:	60 
Size:	272.8 KB 
ID:	61218

Hope you all like!

Mike
    I'm an artist. I draw flies . . .

my fav superhero and my fav wanna be superhero
    Enchanter
    Draw what you see!....not what you think you see!!
    My artist friend

We Must each think of ourselves as an endless work in progress ....Harley Brown

Tremendous Work. (Not familiar with checkered guy. Thanx for explaining)
    My Website - SkylarArt.com
    "Beauty Draws those who Draw Beauty" - Skylar

I get what you said loud and clear.

I would recommend, seeing as how campy you are making this, if you get ambitious, to bounce a little rim light coming from below at an angle thinning it to just a little bit of color - orangeish or blueish. It would complete the shapes and you wouldn't have to do more than touch a few contours. It is the way it's often done for this genre. Careful though, since everything else is relatively neutral in color that you use it sparingly.