Thread: Palette Knife

Gallery
    View images

Palette Knife

I'm just a beginner with the program and have found it pretty easy to use. I've pretty much figured out all the tools (I'm sure I could never stop from learning new ways to use them) except the palette knife.

I know I can increase or decrease the size, but I can't seem to control the edge of the knife. It keeps flip-floping. One side seems to be the active side and the other inactive.

Is this correct? Does anyone know how to control this knife?

Gallery
    View images
    Hiya kiddeft5...

The palette knife flipflops if you're using a mouse, a tablet pc, or an input tablet that doesn't have tilt'sensitivity.

In other words, any input device that isn't one of the higher end Wacom tablets will result in that flipflop.

I work on a tablet pc, which doesn't have tilt control. So my palette knife leaps around like a frog on a pool of lava.

But that doesn't stop me from using it as my primary tool.

Basically, just play around with it, and you'll find it's quite a friendly tool.

The key is to really just play. The more you play, without having any stake in the outcome of an image, the more you'll learn how ArtRage works.

In extreme cases, where the knife just WON'T give you an effect you absolutely need, you can easily just open a new layer above the one you're working on, and use the airbrush tool to put a fine veneer over the area you're fixing.

I normally do this to create shadows and highlights on a nearly-finished pic. Not for error-correction per se.

This is how I do it: