ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: start-up supplies

Arrow start-up supplies

After decades of resisting, I'm taking the leap to digital photography. I really like it so far but I can see a Wacom tablet will make editing much easier and better. (Great! I've coveted a Wacom for a long time!) I'm also going to buy ArtRage. I plan to get an Intuos4 b/c of its greater sensitivity and its radial dial.

So my question for the forum is: which Wacom accessories (if any) do I need? I've never used a tablet before so I'm in the dark about what's essential, what's not, what works, what doesn't.

As far as the traditional media I prefer: graphite, pen & ink, pastels, and oil. Maybe water color, but only if the digital version behaves nicer than the real stuff does!

Many thanks in advance.
    Last edited by jonnie; 09-11-2011 at 07:23 AM.

Jonnie, I have a wacom bamboo pen and touch and it works very well, but wait and hear from others as I have had mine for about a year and there may be better ones out there

From experience: you need only the tools you are going to use.

After you compile a list from what everybody likes, I would recommend buying something that makes sense to you and use it (them) for a while to see how it works for you. And then add things as you go.

If money's not an object, get the best that you're comfortable with because quality of tools matters. . . if you will use it a lot.

It sounds to me like you are expanding your skill base with these new areas. Therefore, it is not a bad idea to ease into it because your direction within those areas may shift as you explore in an evolution natural to your creativity.