ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: Watercolour becomes "grey"

Watercolour becomes "grey"

Hello, I'm rather new with the product but I want to highlight an effect on using watercolours that it's strange to me.

1. open new project
    2. select watercolour
    3. in settings (top - down ; left - right): 50%,50%,100%, 50%,X,X,X
    4. choose whatever colour (I choose blue) and select for example mid brightness
    5. paint a single stroke forsimplicity at 150% brush size
    6. now maintaining the same colour, lower the brightness toward the darker side
    7. paint over the same stroke as step 5 two, three or more times. The result is that the color becomes "grey".

I don't understand why.

Can someone explain what I should change in order to have a "darker" colour as the one I'm expecting in the real life. I've never seen that a dark blue becomes grey if painted over a light blue.

Thanks for any suggestion
    Andrea

The effect you're seeing is probably the result of a few different things interacting. When the second stroke passes over the first, the water will pick up pigment from the canvas, thinning it slightly. This means more of the canvas colour is blended in to the pigment strokes and, as the canvas has lower saturation than the pigment, the overall result is less saturated and tends more towards grey.

At the same time, the limitations of a digital colour model (even in Real Colour Blending to some extent) do mean that mixing two colours of the same general hue can tend towards grey. In this case the lightness of the colours is the only thing changed, and as you blend towards dark they become desaturated, which is then brightened up by the thinning paint and looks grey.