ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: Basic Tutorial

Basic Tutorial

When I was upgrading ARP to version 3.5, I saw a "general" tutorial that covered a lot of different topics. Unfortunately, since I was in the process of the upgrade, I did not download it. Now I cannot find it.

I purchased ARP because I would like to draw but I am a novice to say the least. I have always wanted to learn to draw but never got around to it. I have a Nintendo and purchased a piece of software called Art Academy. I was wonderful in walking you throug a lot of basics and I enjoyed it a low. It rekindled my interest in drawing. That software prompted me to buy ARP which in turn prompted me to purchase a Bamboo tablet. So now I seem to have the tools but need some help or encouragement.

I will admit that I have completd one project which started out as a tracing. I was building a DVD for a highschool class reunion. I needed to covert a gray image of the school mascot from the front an annual from 1960 to a colored image. So I used the trace feature to create a color version of the mascot. It actuall turned out pretty good.

I have also recreated some of the work from the Nintendo using ARP and the Bamboo. Now I would like to branch out but I sometimes find the program a little awkward to use (for me). Yes, I am probably too critical of my own work but I feel the first step is to master the tool (ARP) so that I am struggling with my artistic capabilities without also struggling with the tool.

Yes, I have looked at all of the tutorials on the ArtRage web site. I find some of them fairly complicated to follow and some are basic enough that I got something out of them.

If I am way of base or you have some suggestions to help me get more comfortable with the product, just let me know.

Greetings!