ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: How to consistently re-use a color mixture with a brush/palette knife?

Question How to consistently re-use a color mixture with a brush/palette knife?

Hello everyone, newbie here:

Is there an easy way to consistently keep the same mix of colors on a brush or palette knife after mixing them together? For instance, I'm trying to make a mix of a couple different colors for some mountains I want to paint in a landscape, but even if I mix the colors on a separate layer and use the same brush, eventually it turns into whatever color I have selected in the color picker.

Also, I thought of a neat suggestion for a future feature: why not have a color mixing pod? This pod would basically be a miniature canvas that you could throw colors onto and mix, then sample from on your brush/palette knife. This way you don't have to create a separate layer to do the mixture.

Thank you for your input,
    Greg

If you want to keep colors for later use you can store them as Color Samples.
    For more detailed instructions check User Manual Page 69. Color Samples provide easy but somehow uniformly working solution.

Another way, which is based on more real color mix is offered by Custom Color Pickers. It's also more close to the approach, you described as 'mixing tool' in form of separate pad for color mix.

First you need to mix your colors on the canvas, as you would do it on real artist's palette.

Name:  mix.jpg
Views: 141
Size:  2.9 KB

Then you can do the custom picker of it and save to the disc. Here are the steps to follow:

Name:  steps.jpg
Views: 132
Size:  27.0 KB

This will open the mask called Picker Creator. You can drag it on the canvas until your sample fit in and confirm your choice. This step will also save your picker to the disc.

Name:  piccreator.jpg
Views: 133
Size:  4.3 KB