ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iPad Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Selecting a bright Yellow.

Selecting a bright Yellow.

Sorry I am new to Artrage

I am having problem selecting a bright yellow.

How does one select a Yellow like Cadmium Yellow or Lemon Yellow.
    I find if I try and select a Yellow, I just get something like a Yellow Orchre.

Seem to be missing something as far as colour selection is concerned.

Thanks Keith

Hi Keith,

If you're using ArtRage 2.x, check at the right hand side of the colour picker. There should be a vertical bar. By default this indicates the colour lightness. Drag the indicator up further to lighten the yellow you've selected.

If you're using ArtRage Studio / Studio Pro, by default, the outer ring of the colour picker lets you select the basic colour, the inner area allows you to select the saturation and lightness. Dragging the indicator in the main area to the right increases the lightness, and towards the outer edge of the curve increases the saturation.

Let us know if that doesn't help, including which version of ArtRage you're using.
    Dave
    Resident Bug-Hunter
    Ambient Design

Problems with Yellow.

I am using version 1.0.5 on the iPad.

I do not find it very easy to select yellow in the outer ring.
    But even when I have selected it I do not seem to be able to get a full range of yellows on the inner ring. Best I can is shades of what I would decribe as Yellow Orche.

I just cannot get anything like Cadmium Yellow or Lemon Yellow from my real Water Colour set of paints

Perhaps, to make it easier to select the precise color you wish to be using, you could try importing an image of the color swatches you wish to use. Once imported, you can use the image to create sample colors in the Color Sample panel, where they will be easy to select from then on.