ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iPad Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: My first attempt.

Cool My first attempt.

Hey everyone!
    I have been a traditional artist for as long as I can remember, Recently I was introduced to ArtRage Studio, and was blown away by the simple user interface and the great results. I am using a Waycom tablet on my PC, I have attached my first attempt at using the program, a portrat of Frankenstine, I am having some issues with figuring out how to blend colors together, I mainly use the airbrush tool as it seems to geive me the desired results. Any advise or tips would be great!

Thanks
    D. Robert Cooke
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	frankie2.2.jpg 
Views:	68 
Size:	120.1 KB 
ID:	55230  

You're going to find ArtRage a delight to use. As you get further into it, you will be able to work through problems and ideas that will be reflected in your use of traditional media.

welcome to the forums what a great first attempt! I like Mister Frankenstein
    just a hint - did you try the palette knife for blending colours?

welcome. good start with the program. it does take a bit of getting used to the blending aspects. I still have problems sometimes. besides the palette knives, I have a felt pen preset that I often use to help with the blends. even with watercolors. all of the tools eventually you will find have ways of blending. there are some stunning blend works done with crayon and palette knife. check the art supplies section for presets others have used successfully. and there are a few tutorials on blending techniques used in making portraits.

put this felt pen preset in your felt pen preset folder. I use it a lot.
    click the .prs link to download and then add it to your tool presets found inside artrage.
    tools>user content> open user tool presets> pen>