ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How shadow works?

Question How shadow works?

I have been learning painting and digital art for around 5 years, and I can create artworks like this. When I do life paintings or Alla Prima I just put down the colours I see (with a bit of the colour theory). But when it comes to original art, I need some scientific rules for colouring.

There is one basic colour theory bothers me all the time: Should form shadow be more saturated than the light tone? (single colourless light source, no environmental colour etc.) I know pretty well how light bounces and how colour mixes, but I am not sure if light takes away saturation of gives saturation.

The tutorial I found here says shadow should be desaturated since not much light reaches there; However another tutorial here says shadows are usually more saturated.

Both theory/methods work quite well in real life, such as the Korean artist Hyung Tae Kim's work (colour gets less saturated when it gets darker)

or this, colour gets more saturated in dark tones.

They are exactly the opposite theory but both work well. What do you think about this? It may all depends on the situation, but when you paint which theory you prefer?

I've followed your work and think you're a brilliant artist with great talent. Congratulations.

To simplify matters, I would summarize as follows: