Thread: Dry a layer?

Dry a layer?

Hi,
    I'm pretty new to Artrage and I couldn't find any post on this previously so I figured I'd dive in with this question.

Is there a way to dry watercolor?
    Say that I've laid down a wash on the canvas and if this was real life watercolor, I'd wait until this had dried before adding any more color.
    Is there a way to dry a layer, or is the only way to create a new layer to paint in?

Hi Erikun, and welcome to the forums.

Aside from working on a new layer, as you mentioned, there are a couple options you could look into.

The first option is using the Insta-dry feature. By turning this setting on, any new watercolor paint added to the layer will be applied over the existing paint. The downside to this, is that it won't really react at all with the old paint (almost like using a new layer), which is can be an issue if one is hoping to create a bleeding effect.