ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iPad Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: A slight lag at 300ppi

A slight lag at 300ppi

hi everyone,
    I am pretty new to AR and love what i can do with it.
    I chose AR over Painter because i heard Painter is a real resource hog.

With AR Studio Pro i have been working on art at A4 size at 300ppi with 2 or 3 layers. i usually disable the texture paint effect (by pressing F5).

Still, i have noticed a slight lag especially when i push around the oil paint with palette knife.

Is this pretty normal? I understand that AR doesn't have a scratch disk like Photoshop.

I am using a 2007 imac - 2.4Ghz intel core 2 duo 4gb ram
    Thanks

Ed

more mem or better CPU

I have the same problem too.

I just bought Art Rage this morning after testing the demo, which is awesome, and I plan to do a lot of digital graphics (72 dpi, screen sizes).

Anyway, to work for cash, I plan to draw kid book sized at 12 x 16.5 inches, at 300 dpi. I notice the lag. Being a hobbyist programmer, I understand the amount of information that ArtRage need to process.

Still, I need to know this: Which improve speed better: more ram (currently 4 gig) or CPU (currently intel core duo 2.93 ghz).

Oh wait, after reviewing other forum post, I realize that AR is 32bit, therefore unable to address more than 3(?) gig of mem, so faster CPU then? Or should we wait for 64bit version? (my cpu is 64 bit, so is my Win7).

Those of us who do poster size and larger prints are eagerly awaiting a 64-bit version. Since that will require recompiling the program and a fair number of tweaks, that may take a while. Meantime, we make do with slow tools, and occasionally, some pixel-level editing.

i just posted (by mistake) a similar question in the ipad tech section.

i use an early AR version. from Doc's 'poster' info have things improved a