ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pen & Ink

Pen & Ink

Hello all,

I'm new to ArtRage & the forums so I don't know how much this has already been covered, but what do people like to do for dip pens? (Crowquill, etc.) It looks like the Gloop pen comes the closest. Any tips to share? Thanks!

The perfect tool for this is already in the name of your post - it's Ink Pen
    Here's my example what you can draw with it (and that one is a very quickie, you can go further and do far more complicated pictures with it!)
    Go search forums for more examples

(you can also try Felt Pen)
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ASUKA.png 
Views:	77 
Size:	459.5 KB 
ID:	50142  

excellent drawing Null. I have asked help on this subject as well. I wondered what settings you used for the ink pen and was it 3Pro?

Yes, I have a Pro version of AR3

I usually use Ink Pen with following settings:
    0-10% Pressure, 100% Aspect
    0% Rotation, 100% Opacity
    60-100% Smoothing (depends on the line I want to do)
    Blend Mode: Normal
    Square head Off, Antialias Edge On
    25-50% Size

If I'm correct, there's no Opacity and Blend Mode in Studio version, but they're not certain, as you can see
    Also in a 3.0.8 update a Taper Length setting appeared, which is also great for drawing cartoon/manga characters or other inking (no sure if it's presented in Studio, but it should be)

I haven't updated yet-need to. I still struggle with the pen. I will jot your settings down and give it another go. I primarily use it to repair an edge right now. Thanks for helping me too.