ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iPad Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Critique please

Critique please

I would like input from the group. So often I cannot see what is obvious.

My idea here is a moonlit sky with the focus to be the clouds. I'm ok with some canvas texture coming through.

How do I lead the eye through the paininting in this one?

What works here? what doesn't?

Composition comments anyone? - really I'm looking for help so please critique. (You all seem so kind you might have to overcome some of your kindness. LOL)
    Janet
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	brocade sky.jpg 
Views:	45 
Size:	194.7 KB 
ID:	49370  

I am an amateur here so not really qualified to give expert advice...the first thing i noticed in your painting were the clouds but had you not said that's what they were i would have thought they were mountains...hope this helps...good luck

Janet, I have to agree with semd, the clouds do look more like mountains, clouds are very soft and does not take up so much of the sky, try something on softer canvas (less grain) please dont give up I am looking forward to seeing your next painting, I hope this will help you......Pat

Janet, I have looked at your other paintings and they are beautiful, you have a great eye for color, so keep posting

Hi Janet,

firstly please excuse me for taking a copy of your painting but I find it the easiest way to explain what I want to say...............................all the colours you have are great
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Da go Te'
    Best to you

Peter............
    Have a listen to or buy my music : http://www.reverbnation.com/playlist...artist_3522106
    and the Aubrey Small website:http://www.aubreysmall.com/
    My Facebook page:https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100010972992278