ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iPad Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: dpi question?

dpi question?

Hi
    using wacom bamboo and basic AR prog I was attempting to do a painting at 21cm x 21cm fine at 72dpi but thought I would try to increase the dpi to 300.......hmmmmm........please help!

so it left me with a humungous canvas size that I couldnt possibly work with and when I did shrink it to a decent 30% for working the tools were still working at the humungous size.....sorry im really new to this and am attempting to learn digital artwork so please dont laugh is it possible to get the tools to work at their full capacity when a canvas size is decreased? is it possible to do a painting at 300dpi and rescale it somehow?

I have managed to do a painting at the progs default size setting at 300dpi and it worked fine but I need to do a specific size for this painting from the get go, is it a question of doing the painting and THEN resizing it somehow.....oh im terribly confused!

I hope someone can help.....apologies greatly for the rubbish description of my prob!!!

blessings
    LZ

from the File menu > select new painting
    click on Print Size button
    where it says Measure in: click on the additional menu button that looks like a little paragraph or lines
    change the Measure in: inches to Measure in: cm
    type your desired size in centimeters in the width and height windows
    next type in the ppi that you want your image to be
    notice that there is a line telling you your new Screen Size in pixels (px)

if you should need larger size brushes> for a shortcut just hold down your
    shift key click and drag the tool on your canvas as if painting...and it will change sizes of the brush or other tool and show the new size in the tool display window.
    Attached Images Attached Images