ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iPad Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: ArtRage in Animation

Thumbs up ArtRage in Animation

I am an animator and I absolutely love ArtRage. It is SO much better than Photoshop. I crank out backgrounds with it.

My only wish for an improvement in ArtRage is to be able to player the layers in sequence as animation. If ArtRage had some way to convert layers to animation, every studio in Hollywood would buy it!

ArtRage is amazing but to be fair, it's so slow...
    Just show/hide layers will take you ages. And for animation, speed is important.

Quote Originally Posted by Sweedie View Post
    I use ArtRage for original backgrounds and characters and everything else. I animate it in AnimeStudio Pro. Since ArtRage produces png with transparency it it ideal to make original art for animation.

Making large backgrounds like 6000 or 10000 pixels wide for scrolling horizontal or vertical or zooming are no problems at all. I make many separate layers of pngs in Anime Studio for deep zoom. It is sometimes slow to render in Anime Studio, but its is not slow to paint in ArtRage. Not at all.
    Oh really? My computer cannot handle AR file bigger than A3 300dpi. It has 4G RAM and 2.3GHz CPU. If it is that fast then sure, AR would be the best.

Yes, the highest resolution needed at the moment is 1080p (1920x1080 pixels) if you're aiming for a full-screen HD animation. gb_whisper would need 12,600 pixels length for A3 at 300dpi! ArtRage will easily handle TV quality artworks for animating.

i honestly think AR should focus on what it does best... but for animation, if they are going to do it, here is where I think they could focus:

ANIMATICS/STORYBOARD making.