ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iPad Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: How to paint skin

How to paint skin

Hello everyone I am going to attempt a Tutorial on how to paint skin (Alexandra and Likoum)
    I have never done a tut before so I apologise if I skip bits or forget to mention something

TOOLS

Airbrush
    Palette knife
    Eraser

Steps 1 and 2
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	how to paint skin part 1.jpg 
Views:	270 
Size:	90.1 KB 
ID:	43714   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	how to paint skin part 2.jpg 
Views:	259 
Size:	161.5 KB 
ID:	43715  
    Treat Others as you wish to be treated

http://mannafig.deviantart.com/

Hi Sandra I just use the basic paper setting on this one but other settings work just as well in my opinion depending on what look your after

Step 3 and 4
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	how to paint skin part 3 blending.jpg 
Views:	176 
Size:	149.4 KB 
ID:	43735   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	how to paint skin part 4a eyebrows and lashes.jpg 
Views:	217 
Size:	139.9 KB 
ID:	43736  

Except that the color of *anything* makes sense only in its environment.

In blue light, skin will be blue. In red light, skin will be red. You have to pinpoint characteristics other than color to make it feel like skin in either case. Reflectivity, translucency, value and color saturation, etc.

You're trying to do generic "flesh" color here, and you haven't established any environment.

It's always a good idea to begin with the background, than the figure. It is easy to tie the object into its environment, but it's next to impossible to tie an environment to an arbitrary lighting on an object.

Quote Originally Posted by arenhaus View Post