ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iPad Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: Which one is better?

Which one is better?

Howdy everyone

I've been trying out a new image. This one's for my best friend who is getting ready to go through a divorce. She's been contemplating many things and doing a lot of soul searching and it's a rough time for her. So based on her favorite colors which are black and red and her feelings about this whole thing, I put these together.

I know nothing about the "rules" (so to speak) of abstract painting. I really would like some critique on these because this will be something I print out for her on canvas eventually. So this is really important.

Which do ya'll like best? What's it missing or needing? There is a moon or planet in the upper right corner but it's just not showing up well. Not sure how to combat that as I have no experience on this.

OOOH thank you sooo much Irish! And VERY good point on the "hope"! VERY helpful!

Any other hints or tips you might have on that? The sky seems rather blank but since it's abstract, it probably should stay that way huh?

::EDIT:: by the way Irish (hope ya see this!) I just took a peek at your site and your art. BEAUTIFUL!! Also, I have a new-found love and probably a new-found hobby too! Zentangle!!! TOOO COOL!!!! Thank you Irish!
    Last edited by FireFytingNut; 02-18-2010 at 10:37 AM.

Hi,

Well, consider what you want the artwork to say. I mean I figure you got it working like a Hallmark sentiment card. Were you looking at cards in a store, looking at the picture and picking it up and opening it and reading what it says. . .picture it. What kind of thing would you pick to express visually what you want it to say? How would it read? You can use type if you want as well. But it's up to you.