ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iPad Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: something strange

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Pennsylvania USA
    Posts
    4,228

    something strange

    hmmm, something new or strange has happened since i downloaded the new update today, when i try to 'transform' the layer, i wanted to repositiion the lace, when i go to drag the painting layer is disapears and i can't see what i am moving,,, guess this is new but what do i do so i can see where my painting position is??? thanks!!!
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Pennsylvania USA
    Posts
    4,228
    ,,, nevermind , seems to be ok now!xox
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Pennsylvania USA
    Posts
    4,228
    ,,, well , just don't know now, seems the 'Transform" is hanging up on either the metalics or the stencil layer,, !!!!
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Pennsylvania USA
    Posts
    4,228
    ,, welllll!!! so?? think it is from using the same color on both layers only flat for background then metalic for the stencil, the "Transform' metalic layer turns flat,,,,,,,,,,,,

    Dear Rose, Thanks!!! still learning, aint' that silly!!!!
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    1,667
    I also have problems with the transform tool,
    especially for big files.
    "All are about quiet and light." Dany
    Daily Studio Notes , Daniela Ionesco-Fine Art

    I accept critics only from friends,
    how about You ?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Pennsylvania USA
    Posts
    4,228
    Dear Rose, Thank you for checking in!!! seems i was using the same color for both layers, one flat and one metalic, the 'transform' takes away the metalic feature of that layer and makes it blend in with the bottom layer, or we can make soup

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Posts
    3,502
    When you use the transform tool to manipulate layer contents, lighting is turned off to speed the process up, as rendering the lighting takes extra resources. This means that the contents of the two layers will be the same color during the transform. When you complete the transform operation, the lighting is reapplied. This is the way it works for all versions of ArtRage.

    One workaround off the top of my head for this specific situation: Change the blend mode temporarily for the metallic layer before you move it. From the menu for that layer, go to 'Blend Mode', then choose something other than normal, e.g. 'Shadow'. Then use the transform tool as before and you should be able to more clearly see the contents during the transform. You can switch the blend mode back to 'Normal' when you're done from the menu or by clicking the layer blend mode icon which will have appeared at the base of the layer, and choosing 'Normal' again.
    Dave
    Resident Bug-Hunter
    Ambient Design

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Pennsylvania USA
    Posts
    4,228
    Dear Super DaveRage, Thank You so much!, guess i never used the same color twice before, what you suggested really works!!! best wishes!!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •