ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iPad Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: gradients

gradients

Hi, Im just new to using Artrage....as in photoshop, can you fill a selected area with a colour gradient?

Hi Loveartnz!

ArtRage doesn't have a gradient fill tool, but you could use a gradient stencil in conjuction with the fill tool to acheive a gradient fill.

For example:

-Select an area
    -Open the Stencils Panel
    -Go to the 'Gradients' category and click on 'Linear' to add a linear gradient stencil to your canvas
    -Select the Transform tool ( 4-way arrow in the tool picker next to the selection tool ) which you can use to move, scale and rotate the gradient stencil.
    -Select the fill tool and click within the selected area.
    Dave
    Resident Bug-Hunter
    Ambient Design

getting there

Ok, thanks for that, I can get the linear stencil to make a gradient, but now how do you delete the original stencil template? Can't seem to delete it? Thanks for your help.

To remove a stencil: Right click the stencil, select 'Remove this stencil'.

You can also see all the active stencils in your painting by opening the Stencils panel, clicking on the 'Active' category. Each stencil can be manipulated from here ( hidden, shown, removed and so on ).

You can find more in depth information on working with Stencils on page 83 - 86 of the ArtRage Manual ( Help -> ArtRage Help ) 'Stencils'. This covers how stencils work, how they can be used and also the various options available.
    Dave
    Resident Bug-Hunter
    Ambient Design

gradient fill