ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iPad Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: Thoughts on the development of style -- Part 1

Thoughts on the development of style -- Part 1

6:57 AM
    A lot of commentators on my gallery posts have remarked about my colorful style and it has caused me think a lot about the subject of style lately. This post is a bit long, so I will break it into 3 separate posts. I hope that some will enjoy mulling over the topic.

When I was a bass student my teacher used to push me to find my own voice by saying: "Your want to get to the point where your mom would recognize your playing on the radio."

Tall order.

For me style is a combination of three factors that include; what you like, what you want to say and how you work.

What you like

Miles Davis once said that as a child he heard swing on the radio and knew immediately that he wanted to play in that style. (He is also a musician with an instantly recognizable sound and playing style) Pat Metheney, the Jazz guitarist, is currently using his guitar to trigger instruments to create whole band performances by himself. He says the results reflect "how he hears music." (Mind blowing video HERE)

I believe that visual artists all have a personal way of "seeing art." Your way of seeing is a major factor in determining whose work you are drawn to.

In my case, the artists that really wowed me as a kid were, Van Gogh, Matisse, and the Expressionists. Contemporary artists I admired were Leroy Neiman and the cosmic 1960s style of counter culture artists like Peter Max. I was also fascinated by Kirlian photography and thermal images. By the time I left high school I was creating paintings that were driven by intense colors.

These days my favorites include John Nieto, Robert Burridge, Downe Burns, Debra Hurd, and Martina Shapiro.