ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iPad Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: Bamboo, 1st serious digital piece

Bamboo, 1st serious digital piece

And, unlike my non-serious attempts, it's actually turning out somewhat successfully! Imagine that.

A little trio of bamboo stalks that I have in my room. I wanted a real life subject to try my first serious work on, so I just pulled the little pot over to my desk and voila. It's also my first bamboo set that I've managed to keep alive for more than a few weeks, so I thought I'd celebrate that too!

I'm primarily using the oil brush, but did add a little ink and crayon to the mix (plus a little airbrush just for fun).

Had to save it as a .jpg for size limits, hopefully it survived the conversion. Critique is always welcome and accepted, especially since I'm new to digital art. I've played around on ArtRage for a while, so I'm familiar with it, but I've never truly taken the time to work with it like this. (Also, any way to fix the unevenness of the pot rim without too much agony??)
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	BambooWIP.JPG 
Views:	84 
Size:	342.7 KB 
ID:	40837  
    Last edited by TheLittlestFrog; 01-30-2010 at 06:15 PM.

I like this one just the way it is!
    Looking forward to seing more of your work!
    If I were marooned on a desert island, please air drop me a copy of Artrage 5.0! (Plus a laptop and solar panel)

Thank you! Thankfully the weekend is (finally) here so I should have some time to work on more if not finish this one, and perhaps find some inspiration for a second experiment too.

This has great potential. You have made the bowl look 3D. Be interesting to see the finished product. Don't hurry yourself, take your time with this one, the results should be spectacular.