ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iPad Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Smudge overs

Post Smudge overs

I have a new nickname for painting over a photograph on a layer, I call it a smudge over.

My example: http://bit.ly/8gMyIs

I have done a few paintings using this technique, but I feel that it is totally cheating and I feel guilty painting this way. I know there are no rules with how to use any application, painter X has an autopaint feature too, choosing the colours from the image. I am trying to get away from using it. Its just too easy create a picture.

Saying that, smudge over painting is good for beginners trying to practice with the different tools.

I was an traditional artist before I discovered digital art and yeh I used tracing paper but after that my art was pain-staking and took sometimes 3 weeks to complete a drawing, now its only taking me 3 hours to 3 days maximum.

There are some very talented artists on the forum that don't do smudge overs at all.

What are you thoughts on this practice?
    You can view all my other artwork here http://spookyjules.blogspot.co.uk/

Hi Jules,

What exactly are you referring to in that pic as 'smudge over"? Do you mean putting the painting into soft focus?
    Please explain.

Jules, your picture is lovely!

I find it a very relaxing way to play with paint and colour without worrying about composition. I lay down the oil paint and play with the palette knife. It's like a digital colouring book.

Quote Originally Posted by Jules View Post
    I have a new nickname for painting over a photograph on a layer, I call it a smudge over.

My example: http://bit.ly/8gMyIs