ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iPad Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: Traditional artist meets digital. Uh-oh.

Red face Traditional artist meets digital. Uh-oh.

Ugh. Well, I've finally decided to conquer my arch art enemy: digital art.

I'm a huge huge traditional artist, and though I am far from perfect and am just beginning to get into it seriously I am more than capable of working my way around most any traditional media.

Unfortunately (or fortunately?) I'm considering taking up art as a profession after college, and I know that in the field I'm interested in (scientific illustration), there is a growing demand for digital art. I feel I'd be best served to start learning digital art so that I can accomplish either side, plus I have been wanting to try it out for a while anyway. (No continuing supply costs, having everything already saved and ready on one location? Sounds great to me!) So while I've got the traditional side under control...digital art is another story.

Digital is very foreign to me, I've dabbled around in ArtRage and with my tablet for ages but have never bothered to actually put true effort into it as I do with my traditional art. I tend to get frustrated with any serious digital art very quickly because I simply can't find a way to make it work for me! I realize that's lack of experience, but I haven't quite found my footing yet. So for now, I'm just looking for a place to start.

So tell me, what helped you the most in learning digital art? Did you learn it yourself or consult tutorials and senior users? What's your favorite tool?

Are you French ?

I would like to see one of your traditional paintings,
    do you have a blog or a place where you show your paintings to give a link to it?
    I say that because I always like to speak on things that I know and less on that I am told second hand.