ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iPad Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Made of Sand - Finished

Made of Sand - Finished

I'm new to painting, new to Artrage, new to this forum... just new to it all. I have enjoyed many artists work here (especially Briex) and would appreciate some technical pointers and professional critique. Any words of advice are appreciated!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	MADE OF SAND 2.jpg 
Views:	47 
Size:	156.1 KB 
ID:	39895  

Welcome to the forums! Briex is a genius for sure. I love the wind swept look of this piece. For new to AR, I'm looking forwards to seeing more of your paintings. Watching good artists learn AR is always a fun thing to watch, the images are always fresh and new, and this is no exception.

In terms of technical pointers, I'd have to know what you wanted to get out of the program. If you want sharper line work, or more blending, or to look like a particular artist, that's easier to advise towards. As the painting is, I really enjoy it's fantastic and almost minimal nature. It really gives the sense that you are out in the middle of nowhere, despite the significant level of detail you've created here.

Again, welcome! And excellent post.
    Early to bed early to rise makes a man stupid and blind in the eyes - Orson Scott Card

Response to Gray

I suppose I'm not particularly fond of imitating a particular artist (I'm so green when it comes to who's who in the world of art, I haven't formed many strong attachments to any one style). I've noticed a particular technique that is fascinating to me. In the case of Briex's, 'Autum Light over the Peace Pa' - his use of seemingly blunt, medium-sized strokes to create such a completely detailed image - is just astounding to me.