Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: ArtRage: Portable on USB Key ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    France
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    35

    Question ArtRage: Portable on USB Key ?

    Hi all!

    I have purchased ArtRage 2.5 Deluxe and I would like to know if there is a way to make it "portable" on my usb key.
    I would be cool to be able to launch this application from everywhere (without re-entering each time the serial number).
    Is it possible ?

    Thanks !

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    1,524
    Hi Judebox and welcome the forums, make yourself at home

    I don't have the answer to your question but i'm sure one of the members will, if they don't it won't take anytime at all for Dave to track this thread down and give a definitive answer
    Vista Business SP2 - 32 bit
    Hardrives - 320Gb main
    MB - Intel Core 2 CPU@2.4Ghz

    Memory
    - 2 Gb
    Graphics Card
    - NVidiaGeForce 8800GT,190.62
    Cuda

    Monitor
    - Hewlett Packard 22

    AR3 Studio Professional Unleash The Full Power

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    France
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    35
    Thanks ! This would be a great thing because I already use "The Gimp" and "Inkscape" as portable applications.
    So, let's wait for Dave!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    428
    My answer:

    I carried ArtRage around Europe on a USB with me, and it saved my sanity, but I did have to reenter the serial for each computer (just kept it in a text file on the USB so it was easy).

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    France
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    35
    Yes, it is a solution but won't it register the software in the registry on each computer with my serial number ?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    428
    I uninstalled when i finished - that should do it, i think?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    3,521
    Hi! Welcome to the forums

    If you're not installing ArtRage, but instead running it from an external drive and entering the key the first time you run it on a new computer, that key will remain on the computer when you're done.

    Using it in this manner is fine on computers you own. However, if you do it on other computers, you could have your key stolen by someone else or someone could use ArtRage on that computer with your key which could invalidate the license, so I'd not recommend it.
    Dave
    Resident Bug-Hunter
    Ambient Design

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •