ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: Canvas Move and Rotate

Canvas Move and Rotate

Hey guys. I'm new to the forum, so let me just say, I've been using ArtRage for a couple months now and you've put together an amazing little art program. I regularly hop back and forth between it, Photoshop, and sometimes Painter to do a lot of my work. And I recommend it to a lot of my friends; for $20 it's hard to go wrong and easy to be impressed.

I also thank you from the bottom of my heart for including Mac users along with our Windows friends.

In general, I agree that ArtRage should keep a simple interface and do what it does best rather than try to feature-compete with the bigger programs (although I am intrigued by the idea of a "big red switch" mentioned on another thread. However, there's one interface area that gives me no end of headache: the move and rotate canvas functions.

1) With the move function, it would be really nice if the "move canvas" function could be accessed by a modifier key. It's very disruptive in the middle of painting some detail when you have to move your cursor down to choose the Move tool, drag the canvas where you want it, and then refocus on which tool you were using in the tool cluster before going back to work. Photoshop handles this very elegantly: when and while you hold down the space bar, your cursor temporarily changes to the "move canvas" tool so you can reposition your page; releasing the space bar returns you to the tool you were using. Something like this could be worked right into your UI without any additional clutter, I would think.