Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Re-scaling

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    upper left hand corner, US
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    6

    Re-scaling

    So, it occurred to me that re-scaling the painting would allow you to work at a smaller size (easing the memory load, and use of brushes at easy to grab sizes), then scale up for printing, right? It's a vector program, so, while brush strokes will scale up, etc., it would still be clean when you sized it up for final output, right?

    Speaking of scaling, is it just me, or is it not possible to actually manually scale the tracing image? It SAYS "manual", but it just moves it around, not scales it, no matter which corner or edge I try to drag.

    LOVE this program! I've been practically badgering my friends to go download it!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    3,842
    ArtRage is not a vector program. As the strokes of paint are applied by the brush, they're mixed with the existing paint on the canvas, and the paint on the brush head. The result is cells of paint on a canvas with colour, depth, viscosity and other physical properties of the paint.
    When you do a rescale of the painting, it resamples the canvas, much like resizing a bitmap image. Using the edit menu's scale option to size down, then size back up will lose quality of the painting.

    The canvas zoom options in the menu bar, however, do not lose any quality of the painting as you zoom in and out.

    One of the options we're considering for a future release is to 'record' a painting session - keep track of all the strokes and tools - so it can be played back later.

    Regarding the tracing paper. If you've loaded a tracing paper and go to the 'Edit Tracing Image...' pane, click the 'scale' button, and select manual scale.
    Now, notice to the left of the small preview of the tracing image in the tracing Image settings pane, there are two buttons. One has a cross-hair - that is for moving the tracing image around when you click and drag in the main canvas. The other is a magnifying glass. Select that, then click and drag left/right in the main canvas to scale the tracing image.
    Select 'Done' to return to painting.
    AndyRage's mantra for graphics engine code:
    "Sure - how hard can it be?"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    22,191
    Andy,

    Recording will do what relative to scaling?

    Are you suggesting that once recorded, you could go back to square one and start with a larger blank canvas, and the markmaking history would perform the same thing, only scale itself up proportionately to the new, larger canvas size?

    Or is this feature intended for training purposes as in recording a demo movie?

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    3,842
    One of the options would likely be to 'replay' the recorded session back at on a different-sized canvas. However it's worth noting that a lot of the look of ArtRage paintings comes from the interaction at the 'cellular' level of the paint, so replaying the script at a different size would lead to different interactions, so the result may be slightly different.

    It woud indeed be ideal for training purposes - another person would be able to replay a painting session done by an artist proficient with ArtRage, to see exactly what they did.

    The feature would have the additional advantage that if anyone found a bug in a process in ArtRage, they could send us the session where the bug occurred, and we'd be able to reproduce it here exactly, making it *much* easier to resolve.

    These are currently blue-sky ideas. We dont have a timeframe for when session recording would be available in ArtRage, so dont count on it in the immediate future!
    AndyRage's mantra for graphics engine code:
    "Sure - how hard can it be?"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    upper left hand corner, US
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    6
    Thanks, Andy. I get it, now.

    As for session recording, that sounds cool! Sounds like it would be a real memory-hog, though, right? Would it slow down the original working?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    3,842
    No, you wouldn't even notice it. We'd just be storing the location and time of mouse events, the tool that was used and the loading of the head.
    That would take not much memory or processing time at all.

    Then when it's played back, you load the brush with the settings it had prior to each stroke, and play back the mouse events.
    AndyRage's mantra for graphics engine code:
    "Sure - how hard can it be?"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •