ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iPad Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: Blue eyes (trouble spots)

Blue eyes (trouble spots)

Hi, just got ArtRage a few days ago. This is my first attempt using the oil brush and a mouse (hoping to order a pen soon).

I used tracing with a black and white photo to get my general outlines - then did all color/shading etc.

I'm very unhappy with the lips. How do I make them more rounded looking (I've never had a art class or I'd probably know that).

I'm seeking honest critique here - anything about the painting that could be improved, suggestions on technique, etc.

Since I'm just starting I am a tabula rasa waiting to be shaped by your tips and guidance.

Thanks.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

It's not bad for a start, but what I would suggest is to go look in a mirror. Or skip through a bunch of magazines and really LOOK at people. See how the lips are shaped, how the shadows form and what they connect to. Find some lipstick commercials and look at the lips close up. Look at the eyes close up. What gives anything its shape, at least in drawing, is the shadow it makes. That gives it depth. Then just practice drawing lips. Using a picture to trace it or reference it is fine, but like I told my son, you still have to know its general shape, so use reference a few times, then try it on your own. Then practice the eyes, the nose, the mouth, etc until you know their forms by heart. Then and only then will you ever be able to draw realistic people. Practice, practice, practice. And good luck. Check out the tutorial sections. There are some good ones on portraits.
    Secret to happiness? Get yourself a hobby!
    Visit my Gallery!

Quote Originally Posted by annie_okay View Post
    I'm very unhappy with the lips. How do I make them more rounded looking (I've never had a art class or I'd probably know that).