Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Guide to setting up a Artrage Paining for Print.

Guide to setting up a Artrage Paining for Print.

Hi everyone.

I'm a graphic designer by trade and I want to clear somethings up, give some advice and explain some of the different printing styles and ways so you can set your artwork up from the start to be printed.

When starting a artrage drawing, you will be presented with a box.
    In this box is where you should set your preset.

For the purpose of this, I will be using a A4 as a example but you should have a papersize (well, at least a ratio) of what you want to be printing on. If you know what you want to be printing on, type the dimensions here.

A4 = 148 × 210

So since I am planing to print this bit of artwork, I would say it needs to be 300 dpi. After many trail and error, 400dpi works better in artrage for the super detailed drawings.

The DPI or Dots per inch is the res of the image. Basically, if we set 400 dpi, there will be 400 dots per inch resulting in a much cleaner job and makes you artwork look that much more how it should.

Colours, this is a huge topic so I will only touch wood and try not to bore you with advanced colour mangerment. There are two types, CMYK (Cyan, mangeta, yellow and black) and RGB (red, green and blue) You can ONLY print in CMYK but your computer screen is displaying rgb.

O noes!

well don't worry. Artrage has .psd support. Save your file in the .psd format and take it into something like photoshop and change the values to CMYK, the screen will guess and give you a rough idea of the print out colour. Most of the time though, really bright colours will be dimmided and will become pastely.

While we are on this note, you need to adjust your screen's setup to get corrent colour. THIS IS IMPORANT and you should do it now so you don't forget. The better the screen the better it displays colours and lots of other cool stuff.

http://www.wikihow.com/Calibrate-Your-Monitor