ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Art - What's the point?

Art - What's the point?

My mum doesn't like art.
    She doesn't encourage me to draw.
    She doesn't want me to practice.
    My sister's always say I'm rubbish.
    They say I'm not an artist, so I should stop trying to be.

I get upset all the time because of this. And maybe this is why I've been failing to draw anything for a while, even little doodles...

What's the point in art? If I get no encouragement, inspiration and I'm just plain no good, why should I bother?
    What's the point?
    I don't want people to love my art, they don't have to, but I'd like some encouragement sometimes.
    I never get it.
    And it makes me upset and I cry because of it.

My mum doesn't want me to do art. And she thinks I can gain nothing out of it.
    My sister's getting a mini laptop, when she has a perfectly good normal laptop. Her mini laptop is 200, and she's going to use her birthday money to get it.
    So when I brought up the idea of buying a tablet off of eBay (I had found one around the price of 200, running Windows XP, with a pen-touch screen, and in good quality, from a seller with 100% positive feedback. And it was buy it now too.) she refused, and said many things like:

*It could be a scam. (It isn't. With all that feedback, it's not)

*No optical drive. (You can get cheap USB ones.)

*I have no use for it. (Drawing, duh! And other things, too)

*I can't use it for art classes, if I ever get into them.
    (1. She would never let me go to art classes. 2. If you can draw good on a tablet laptop, you can draw good on paper. A tablet pc simply gives you less mess)

*You're 11! (The time-old parental excuse for when their children want something. I am 11. I love art. And I want to buy something to help me develop it.)