ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iPad Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 39

Thread: My 1st Tablet WoooooT

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,524

    My 1st Tablet WoooooT

    Hey all, i got my 1st tablet today and i'm over the moon and sliding down the rainbow

    Now i just got to get a handle this beast, i only purchased a small one, i tried my dads and his is massive, i found myself lost with all the realestate lol

    I've been waiting for quite a while and gave up drawing and painting "digitally" until i purchased one, i got sick and tired of trying to draw with a block of soap, i've heard it so eloquently said

    Anyways any tips or pointers from your own experiences would be very much appreciated
    Vista Business SP2 - 32 bit
    Hardrives - 320Gb main
    MB - Intel Core 2 CPU@2.4Ghz

    Memory
    - 2 Gb
    Graphics Card
    - NVidiaGeForce 8800GT,190.62
    Cuda

    Monitor
    - Hewlett Packard 22

    AR3 Studio Professional Unleash The Full Power

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Down a hole
    Posts
    944
    Hey Col,
    Congratulations!!
    So which tablet did you get finally?

    Since you say it's a small one, i suppose you'll have to get used to drawing with wrist movements as opposed to arm movements (from shoulder)
    I'd recommend playing around with the 'scope' of the tablet (the area that represents the screen) I'd found initially that an area of app 2" W X 1.15" H was sufficient for me. I could cover the entire screen with a flick of the wrist.
    Gradually I kept increasing the area, as I got used to the tablet, and now use the full scope.

    Hope that helps.

    Enjoy your new found toy!!

    The more hair I lose, the more head I get.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,524
    It's not a well known toy, it's brand name is "Capax", 5"x8" widescreen, 1024 pressure levels of sensitivity (which was the most important part for me) and 2000 lpi, Report Rate is 125rps built for Vista and Mac.

    I couldn't afford a Wacom of any size but wanted reasonable quality for my $99, i ended up getting it @ Harvey Normans for $75 which i thought was a bargain

    What do you mean by "scope" how do i adjust that ?

    I've had a brief looksy through all the stuff that came with the macro manager and general settings for the device, also through Vista business's tablet settings but never came across scope.

    I was wondering also how to adjust the sensitivity of the pressure that i'm applying in ArtRage and Photoshop. Anyways i'm off to watch a few online video's on using Tablets with Photoshop and other programs to get a general feel for what i'm doing, so far so good though, a lot better than the monster my Dads is lol
    Vista Business SP2 - 32 bit
    Hardrives - 320Gb main
    MB - Intel Core 2 CPU@2.4Ghz

    Memory
    - 2 Gb
    Graphics Card
    - NVidiaGeForce 8800GT,190.62
    Cuda

    Monitor
    - Hewlett Packard 22

    AR3 Studio Professional Unleash The Full Power

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Down a hole
    Posts
    944
    hehe, I don't use a wacom too. Don't feel like paying all that much more for a 'quality' i'm not totally convinced about. My only option being locating someone who has one and playing around with it for a while to figure out for myself.
    although If I had oodles of cash I'd buy the biggest baddest wacom monster and paint/draw from the shoulder like it was meant to be! lol!

    the scope is the area of the tablet that corresponds to your screen. you can use the full 5" X 8" or lesser..
    that means somewhere in you tablet settings should be a setting that lets you specify how much of the tablet real estate you want to use. go thro the help file/manual that came along with your tablet, you're sure to find it. there's also 'hot cells' usually that let you specify shortcuts/actions along the peripherry of the tablet for whatever functions you want.. (copy, paste, etc etc) which by tapping you can make life a little easier and complicated at the same time. haha.

    On my computer the dialogue looks like this..
    hope this helps..

    P.S. Is this the one you bought?
    http://www.capaxtech.com.au/capax3/h...sp?code=171105
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by flyashy; 07-01-2009 at 10:01 PM.
    The more hair I lose, the more head I get.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,524
    Hey Thanks Flashy, i'll have a lil hunt around
    Vista Business SP2 - 32 bit
    Hardrives - 320Gb main
    MB - Intel Core 2 CPU@2.4Ghz

    Memory
    - 2 Gb
    Graphics Card
    - NVidiaGeForce 8800GT,190.62
    Cuda

    Monitor
    - Hewlett Packard 22

    AR3 Studio Professional Unleash The Full Power

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    3438 ft above sea level
    Posts
    2,951
    Woohoo!!
    Unshackled and ready to Rage eh... i'm excited for you too
    For that price, if you manage to break it you can get a second one and still come in under the wacom intuos entry price...
    Be sure to let the community here know how it performs for you as there are a lot of people on the forum in the market for a more affordable tablet

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,524
    Thanks Rose and Juz, i'm working some art projects Rose, i'll something to show soon
    Vista Business SP2 - 32 bit
    Hardrives - 320Gb main
    MB - Intel Core 2 CPU@2.4Ghz

    Memory
    - 2 Gb
    Graphics Card
    - NVidiaGeForce 8800GT,190.62
    Cuda

    Monitor
    - Hewlett Packard 22

    AR3 Studio Professional Unleash The Full Power

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,524
    Ok heads up, do not buy a "Capax" brand Tablet, i've had nothing but trouble with it, i had to reinstall the drivers every day, and in the end it wouldn't even recognize the brush size, in Photoshop.

    So.... the good news is i took it back to Harvey Normans, one of the largest Electrical and Furniture Retail Outlets in Australia and got a an exchange for a Wacom Bamboo "not the fun variety" but i'm gonna have fun with it

    The best part was is the BAmmboo doesn't come stock with a Pen but i got mine with a pen and for $15 dollars less then what Wacom.com.au is selling it for on special
    Vista Business SP2 - 32 bit
    Hardrives - 320Gb main
    MB - Intel Core 2 CPU@2.4Ghz

    Memory
    - 2 Gb
    Graphics Card
    - NVidiaGeForce 8800GT,190.62
    Cuda

    Monitor
    - Hewlett Packard 22

    AR3 Studio Professional Unleash The Full Power

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    washington, usa
    Posts
    14,215
    good job... on switching to Wacom.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,524
    Thanks gzairborne, i didn't want to muck around anymore, i just wanted to paint
    Vista Business SP2 - 32 bit
    Hardrives - 320Gb main
    MB - Intel Core 2 CPU@2.4Ghz

    Memory
    - 2 Gb
    Graphics Card
    - NVidiaGeForce 8800GT,190.62
    Cuda

    Monitor
    - Hewlett Packard 22

    AR3 Studio Professional Unleash The Full Power

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •