ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iPad Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Digital art

Exclamation Digital art

the other day i was talking to a friend and i told him about AR and how i started drawing on the computer. The question he asked was, "what is it like just using a bunch of stencils and clip art" He thought it was done with no skill like the computer drew it for me. to quote HANS " the art button" on the keyboard did it. Ive also talked to other people in the past before i started digital art and they seem to think its something less then traditional art. Plus there are tons of post on the net saying the same thing. i was wondering why you guys think people look down on digital artist or if there looked at differently at all?
    my work- gusion85.deviantart.com

It depends on what the artist uses, that includes the program[s].

It isn't proper drawing/art if they don't actually draw it. Those who use a tablet are doing things closer to real art than those who use a mouse. If you possess a tablet, and you can do amazing art on the computer, then it's not just about how good you are at moving a mouse, it's about their talent of drawing.

Digital artists should NOT be looked down on, as they are artists too, just as much as the ones who do it all on paper. If you have a program like ArtRage, or any program that trys to make it all realistic, then all the better, but I don't think anybody should be looked down upon.

Just like this saying:

"You should never look down on somebody unless you are helping them up."